Dead Crow Bourbon Beer

Posted: December 14, 2015 by Kenny in Craft, Imported
Tags: ,

deadcrowYou may have noticed that I have not been updating the list as often as I used to. Well, work is crazy busy and I don’t have the kind of time I used to to write up every beer I drink. OH, I still drink a lot of beer (as of this writing I’m at 1,423).

Now, since my time is limited, I have decided to only spend the time to write up really good beer, great experiences…or the most vile beers I try. This post, my friends, is that of the latter.

In my experience, when something says its Bourbon beer, it has been aged in bourbon barrels, or has had some portion of it infused with the essence of bourbon, direct from the source. So when I grabbed Dead Crow Bourbon beer, I was expecting more of the same.

The bottle was clear so I could see that it had a clear, dark orange colour to it, which is along the same lines as many Innis & Gunn, which are oak aged. I had no reason to believe that this beer was going to be the shit show it turned out to be.

After I poured it out, I took a smell; way too sweet to be bourbon. Let’s take a look at he the ingredients. I crap you not, this is how it went: Beer, Sugar, Bourbon Spirit, Flavoring. Are you for real? The first ingredient in this beer is…..beer? From where? What kind of beer?

Ok, benefit of the doubt, there are a lot of new fusion beers out there, like all the a-rita’s from Bud Light (notice there is no link to them……) and the new thing it to make beer cocktails (never) so maybe these guys are just ahead of the game.

No Dice. One sip and I cringed. It was way too sweet. It was like sugar water.
egger

It only took another sip for me to decide this was one of the worst beers I’ve ever tried. Congratulations Dead Crow, you have found yourself in a very special group; Beer Ken did not finish. Make room Ghost Face Killah, Ghosttown Stout, Leifman’s GoudenbandDragon Stout and Spring Bock.

Country of Origin: England
Alcohol Content: 5.5%
Sequence: First
Finished: No
Vessel: Kitchen sink

 

Leave a comment