Innis and Gunn White Oak Wheat Beer

Posted: October 9, 2015 by Kenny in Craft, Imported
Tags: ,

InnisandGunnWhiteOakWheatBeerIf you look back on my experience with Innis and Gunn, you can see that it started off horribly and then slowly moved its way up to Not That Bad. Then, earlier this year, they surprised me with two really good beers(Craft Lager and Toasted Oak IPA)

So, of course, now I seem to grab one whenever I’m at the LCBO. Last week was one of those days. I saw an I&G bottle with a blue label and thought to myself “self”, I thought, “you haven’t had a blue label, right”. So I looked it up and nope, I’ve never had White Oak Wheat Beer. Wait, Wheat Beer? Innis and Gunn? Alright. Stranger things have happened.

I read the back of the bottle and it described the beer as sparkling and a flavour that you would expect from a cup of earl gray tea. Colour me intrigued. It poured out a clear dark yellow and had barely any head. Right away I understood what the label was referring to. The whole kitchen started to smell like my mum was steeping a pot of Earl Gray after a nice beef dinner, complete with yorkshire pudding! (If you haven’t had it, you’re missing out!)

It smelled very floral and very sweet. It tasted, for the most part, like a wheat beer that was infused with tea leaves. It was so out of left field! The closest thing I could liken it to is Mill Street Lemon Tea Beer (which is a 5 star beer).

So, suffice it to say, I enjoyed this one a lot.  I’m looking to grab some more if I can.

Country of Origin: Scotland 
Alcohol Content: 6.4%
Sequence: Third
Finished: Yes
Vessel: Glass by way of bottle

 

Leave a Reply

