Mikkeller Cream Ale

Posted: February 3, 2015 by Kenny in Craft
Tags: , ,

mikkeller-creamIt’s about time!!!

I bought all the Mikkellers when they made their debut at the LCBO back in November, but at that time, I had a huge back log of beer that I had to FIFO, so I never got to them. Every time that I was ready for them, Mark would come over and then we’d drink some of the bigger ones. It drove me crazy!

The night that I drank this, the wife was at work and the kids were in bed. I was watching Team Canada in the World Juniors and texting with Jackie. It came up that she was drinking a Mikkeller Texas Ranger and had 4 more Mikkellers to go. We got the great idea that we could still “drink” together even if we were in different cities. I had all the beer she had, so we chose the Cream Ale to start with and we did some long distance drinking.

It poured out a dark, cloudy orange and smelled very hoppy. It didn’t smell like any cream ale that I had had before, but remember, these are the same guys who made a 17% black lager, so all bets are off!

It tasted very smooth with just a slight bit of hops in the booty. Not the kind that you get with an IPA, where it’s hoppy and sweet up front, and grapefruity and spicy on the way down. Just a squeeze of hops.

Near the end, it started to get a little bitter, but again, not IPA or APA bitter.

It was pretty amazing, actually. Looking forward to the rest.

Country of Origin:  Denmark
Alcohol Content:  5%
Sequence:  Second
Finished:  Yes
Vessel:  Glass by way of bottle

 

Leave a comment